Tuesday, September 7, 2021

How to block iPhone app tracking in iOS 14

iOS 14.5 – available now – comes with a host of new features, and one of the most important is that apps have to ask for permission before they can track you. Along with this, you have full control to allow or block iPhone app tracking, read on to know how it works.

Apps that can track you across the web and other apps are very common and in many cases can be harmless. However, there are examples where application tracking is abused. In a report from Washington post, 5,400 iPhone apps used trackers and, in some instances, sent personal data such as user phone numbers and locations to third-party research and marketing companies.

With iOS 14.5, Apple will require apps to get user approval to use trackers. Users now have full control with the latest operating system to completely block iPhone application monitoring.

How to allow / block iPhone app tracking

Keep in mind that some apps may not work well without the ability to use trackers. You can allow / block tracking of iPhone apps in two ways.

  • When you open an app in iOS 14.5 for the first time and it wants to follow you, you’ll see a prompt like this:

If you allow an app to be tracked, it will appear in your tracking settings which you can manage at any time. Here’s where to find that:

  1. On your iPhone, head to Settings
  2. Swipe down and tap Privacy
  3. To choose Monitoring at the top
  4. Default setting allows apps to ask permission to follow you
  5. Turn it off to prevent all apps from following you – and even ask to follow
    • Choose “Ask apps to stop tracking” or “Allow apps to continue tracking” for anything you’ve already approved.
  6. If / when you allow an app to track you, you’ll see a list of them under Privacy> Tracking settings
  7. You can block tracking anytime for individual apps by tapping the toggle next to it

Here’s what those steps look like:

How to allow / block iPhone app tracking - settings

At this time, there doesn’t seem to be a quick way to allow an app to be tracked if you said “Ask the app not to track” with the initial prompt. However, you can delete and download the app again and you should get the follow-up prompt again.

Learn more about 9to5Mac tutorials:

FTC: We use automatic income generating affiliate links. After.


Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more information on Apple:

Avital Andrewshttp://www.alnoffer.com
Avital Andrews from Miami, FL is a technical, business writer as well as a journalist who writes for different authority websites online to provide researched and stats based content to provide authentic information to the users around the world. 😐

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles